Sep 13, 2012

Peter F. Drucker Nonprofit Innovation Award

The $100,000 Peter F. Drucker Award for Nonprofit Innovation is given each fall to a nonprofit organization that best demonstrates Druckerʼs definition of innovation: “change that creates a new dimension of performance.” It was launched in 1991 by Peter Drucker himself, and is generously supported by The Coca-Cola Foundation.

The 2014 Drucker Award application is closed. The winner will be announced by October 1, 2014.

“In the years ahead, America’s nonprofits will become even more important,” Drucker said. “As government retrenches, Americans will look increasingly to the nonprofits to tackle the problems of a fast-changing society. These challenges will demand innovation—in services, and in nonprofit management. The purpose of the annual Peter F. Drucker Award for Nonprofit Innovation is to find the innovators, whether small or large; to recognize and celebrate their example; and to inspire others.”

Over time, meanwhile, the application process has become a powerful tool in and of itself. By applying for the award, you will receive knowledge and tools to become a more Drucker-like organization in terms of innovation and beyond.

In this way, the Drucker Award fits firmly on on our YESTERDAY/TODAY/MONDAY* foundation. “Yesterday” refers to the fact that all of our work is grounded in Peter Drucker’s timeless wisdom. “Today” speaks to the urgency that we know organizational leaders feel to successfully meet their greatest challenges and opportunities. And “Monday” points to our proven ability to help people move quickly from ideas to action to results, just as Drucker urged his own consulting clients: “Don’t tell me you had a wonderful meeting with me. Tell me what you’re going to do on Monday that’s different.”

Along the way, you will also benefit from another of our strengths: our work with organizations across all sectors. This scope allows us to glean—and share—insights not only from a wide range of nonprofits but from corporations and government agencies, as well.

For more information, please contact Jamie Jones, senior program manager, at [email protected] or 909-607-9212.

Application Resources

Past First-Place Winners

Greg Berman, Director of The Center for Court Innovation—the 2009 Drucker Award winner—used a Spider Man comic to tell his organization’s story at a Drucker Institute event. “We may never be the biggest, the strongest or the fastest,” he said, “but we can always be the smartest.”

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Email